Hopper’s House

sjh_8015.jpgI had an incredible experience today and I wish all of you had been there with me. I went on a photo assignment with my husband to photograph Edward Hoppers house in Truro. I stood in his studio, saw his easel with lots of blue and white paint on it, and looked out the same window he painted from. Two of his hats hang from the easel. The light had a clarity to it that I can not describe. The space was tiny. The studio the largest room. A kitchen, bathroom, 1 bedroom and the studio. It was filled light and the outdoors. All you could ever need. Perfect in it’s simplicity. I was thinking how much you all would have loved it.My head is so full of the weekend and now this.Holly  

5 thoughts on “Hopper’s House”

  1. DUDE! YOU HAVE A BLOG?!?!?!?!?!?! That is so NOT last century!

    I am still trying to figure out how to reply to the knitting blogs.

    When I looked at that photo, I took a quick deep breath, Dick looked, and said it even LOOKED like a Hopper painting. Very cool.

    So, what was the weekend that made your head full?

  2. Holly, I am so impressed with your blog site. The photo is gorgeous. Are you planning to show your work on this blog as well?
    It was good to see you on monday.
    Take care,
    Dona

  3. Thank you so much Dona. Did you go to the link for the audio slide show? There are more photos on it at Hoppers house. What a day it was. I am going to put pictures of my work on it soon. YOu have been very supportive. It was good to see you to!
    Holly

  4. Holly, the star bowls are beeeautiful. And the ‘straw bowl’ looks like it should weigh about 8 ounces. I bet it doesnt, but they are all really lovely. Congratulations!

  5. Holly,
    Thanks for sharing this. I have always wanted to see Hopper’s house up close and personal and this photo puts me right there. It’s stunning as are your own pieces of art. Just lovely.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

